Posted by: Mark | May 22, 2006

A meme
Ok, Julie tagged me on this, but I have to confess, I have no idea what a meme is (yes I’m kinda new at this whole blogging thing). Is that like when your 6 year old keeps yelling Dad, look at me, look at me? Or is it when your 3 yr old wants you to try swinging her like a monkey and says ME,ME?
Anyway, here goes…

Accent: None – but for those that do, it always helps if you put the correct em-phas-is on the right syl-lab-le
Bible Book that I like: Ephesians, James, Matthew
Chore that I don’t care for: Hm… truthfully, that would probably have to be all of them – but I think the worst is doing the dishes when Julie stacks them up with food and water and it grosses me out and I gag at all the squishy stuff I have to scrape off into the disposal – the world would be a much better place if we could go back to the good ‘ol old days and scrape our leftover food into the garbage and rinse our plates. (Ok, I’ll get off my soapbox now and go hide while she reads this one).
Dog or Cat: Dog – truly man’s best friend – miss having snickers around to lay on the couch and watch basketball with me (although she does snore – and has bad gas too, but she pretends like she’s sleeping). Besides, I’m allergic to cats and they are way too snobby to be a real pet anyway.
Essential Electronics: Laptop, iPod, cell phone
Favorite Cologne: haven’t worn cologne since high-school I think it was Drakar
Gold or Silver: Aluminum – much cheaper
Handbag I Carry most often: laptop case – (the only one I carry by the way)
Insomnia: Never – I’m out when my head hits the pillow (except in a car or on a plane)
Kids: Two – Noah 6.5; Natalie 3.5
Living Arrangements: No kids or pets allowed in mom and dad’s bed – except after they wake up if dad is already out of bed and then mom gives in, mostly because she’s too tired to fight with them – not a morning person)
Most Admirable Trait: Not sure, ask my wife. Some people have told me its not the gift of mercy or patience.
Naughtiest childhood behavior: Contained in a veggie tales episode…
Overnight hospital stay: Knee surgery (very painful – not recommended) & twice for childbirth… I think… It was all a blur to me after the epidurals… those were some big honkin needles!
Phobias: Car payments. and bugs crawling on me – I remember leaning against a 6 ft ant hill at Fort Lewis Washington (no, really, you have to see these things – I plan to take Julie there some day to show her) during a night ambush at ROTC camp – they were all over me.
Quote: “Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.” Phillipians 4:6-8
Religion: Christian = a personal relationship with God through his son Jesus Christ who died for my sins and yours
Siblings: 1 older brother (aka, dude) – just had his 5th child – way to go bro!; 1 younger sister (aka, cooterhead) – she’s 30 today!!! and lives with Hubby Rob in England (love his accent by the way – its cool to just listen to the Brits talk, but we have real football)
Time I wake up: 4:00-4:30 – (except for saturdays)- thats a.m., by the way, for all of you recent high school or college grads
Unusual Talent or skill: I can do Taco Tongue – I once ate a dozen donuts in under 3 minutes.
Vegetable I refuse to eat: Peas – just the smell of them makes me gag
Worst habit: Have to ask Julie- probably tuning people out while I’ve doing other things even though I seem to be listening – I’m sure there are many others
Yummy stuff I cook: Cheese crisps (whenever Julie is gone), Gourmet Pizza (DiGornio), and pretty good omlettes on rare occaisions.
Zoo animal I like most: orangutang – those guys are the craziest, funniest animals around – remind me a lot of my kids
X-rays: Lets see, wrist, ankle, knee, chest, leg, arm, teeth (those are the worst), foot, shoulder, collar bone, thumb, spine, neck, I’m sure there were others. I’ll have to ask mom.


Responses

  1. Great list Mark!!

    A dozen donuts under 3 minutes??

  2. Ok, maybe it was 5 minutes?? It was right after wrestling season ended and we went on a donut binge/eating contest.

  3. Please note it took him 11 years of marriage before he told me about the dishes thing and said that’s why he didn’t like to do the dishes. If only I had known.

    …thank goodness you don’t buy me alumninum jewelry

    …I have never met a person who falls asleep faster

    …most admirable trait is definitely your HUGE heart for people, especially those that are hurting (legitimately – which makes it less about mercy because that is definitely NOT one of your gifts)

    …worst habit…hm…I’d have to think on this one – oh I got it. NOT putting the NEW roll of toilet paper ON the rod and instead sitting it on top. Kills me every time :-) But at least you ALWAYS put the seat down. Not too many wives can say that about their husbands.

  4. The two of you are cracking me up!!


Leave a comment

Categories