Posted by: Mark | May 4, 2006

Live & Learn
My Grandpa was a smart guy. One of his best quotes… He used to always say”Do what you do best and hire out the rest”. I’ve learned this the hard way too many times in life – partly because I’m cheap, and partly because I’m a guy and don’t want to admit I can’t do something. I am getting wiser as I get older and now I hire out a lot of stuff – probably more because I don’t want to waste the time to do it – rather be playing golf. $60 for the garage door opener installation was a good call for me – and hiring painters and movers. Some of the best $ I’ve ever spent, and made the princess happy too :)

Was reminded of this principle at a conference today – won’t get into the details, but suffice to say that we need to focus on what God calls us to do individually, vocationally, relationally, and corporately as a church body and not get sidetracked by trying to do what other people are doing or what other people want us to be doing. Have a vision and stick to it – change is good but only if is accomplishing the vision that you have.

Best quotes of today – Ed Young Jr (not his conference by the way – he’s a great pastor, communicator and leader, and they do a great conference in Dallas) one of his pet peaves is “Christians that talk the smack but don’t do jack”.
Erwin McManus was quoted “Don’t let an arrow pierce your heart unless it passes through the filter of scripture” I’ve learned that we need to distinguish and take to heart criticism that is meant to build us up and conform us to Christ’s likeness, but if it is to tear us down or just to be negative, then don’t even listen to it.
Worst quote of the day (not Ed Young) – Its time to get busy in the hizzy??? Whatever – must be an east coast thing.


Responses

  1. “Christians that talk the smack but don’t do jack.”

    Love it! Any bets on how soon Greg works that into a sermon? I’ll put one back massage on 2 weeks.

  2. Cool blog, interesting information… Keep it UP »


Leave a comment

Categories